The Modern Cloth Nappy: The Practical Choice for Moms Today

This post is written for the MCNP EB/Expo Blog Carnival with the theme “The Modern Cloth Nappy: The Practical Choice for Moms Today”  We aim to share and spread the knowledge and encourage moms to switch to cloth diapers.  Please scroll below to read the other carnival posts about switching to cloth, cloth diaper styles or preferred diaper for specific times.
Image

I am a proud cloth diapering MOMMA for almost 2 years now. I started using cloth diaper to my 2nd baby -Alyssa Ashley who is 20 months now.

Looking back, 10 years from now, when I have my first born – Allen Hale who is 9 years old now. I didn’t have knowledge with cloth diapers or even the lampin. I just bought disposable diapers for my convenience of not washing lampins. Though the effort of doing the laundry is not there, I notice that I have a full trash bin of soiled diapers. Yes I admit that I am not the super mom type that time.

For my second child, I practice reading and searching in the net what’s best for my baby in the modern time. When I am still pregnant I always read through the articles in http://www.babycenter.com.ph and it helps me alot. I discover the Modern Cloth Diaper.

Where do I start with cloth diapers?
I try looking on internet sites that explain the many different types of diapers and diaper accessories available. Take a look at Pinoybaby Store and Eco Baby Boutique which give good introductions to what’s involved. Ask other moms you know and read up online. Special baby shops are also starting to carry a range of cloth diapers. Ask for a diaper demo to get a real feel of the products.

I also read through Blog sites specially the http://www.chroniclesofanursingmom.com/

Cloth Diaper vs. Disposable Diapers

Image

Many moms say they are, and here’s why:

  • They stay in place better than they used to, thanks to velcro fastening and plastic clips.
  • Reusables are now made of lightweight, fluffy materials that wash and dry easily.
  • New designs are less likely to leak than old-fashioned terrycloth or lampin.

My husband and I also attend a Cloth Diapering Seminar for more knowledge and understanding the importance of it. It’s a great way of convincing your hubby to full switch to cloth diapers.

Image

Image

Jenny Ong demonstrating different kinds of Cloth DiapersImage

That’s my Daughter – Alyssa Ashley at the Bottom 🙂

Image

As proof… we were in the front row from the right side for better view 🙂

Image

Image

Alyssa Ashley at 3 months wearing pink cloth diaper

Image

At 20 months, and now learning to be potty trained. I realized that it is easy to train her to use the potty compare to her brother. Because cloth diapers makes babies feel the natural wetness and she is aware that her nappy is wet unlike disposables makes it dry overnight. That feeling made her aware that she doesn’t want a wet diaper so she baby sign to me that she needs to pee2x or poo2x.

Cloth diapers can be more environmentally friendly than disposables but you have to think carefully about how you wash and dry them. Well my husband is an expert on washing the cloth diapers than me. The key is to sun dried the nappies to better sanitized them. No need to iron them remember that we are aiming to save more money so we can use them for their college 🙂

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Modern Cloth Nappy: The Practical Choice for Moms Today

  1. I think everything published was very logical. However, think on this, what if
    you wrote a catchier post title? I ain’t saying your content is not good., however what if you added a title that grabbed a person’s attention?
    I mean The Modern Cloth Nappy: The Practical Choice for Moms Today | Ash ‘n Boo is a little plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create news headlines to grab viewers to click.
    You might add a related video or a related pic or two to get readers excited about what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it would bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

