Everything happens for a reason: House Husband

Do you have a stay at home husband?

What is the first thing that comes into your mind when you heard it?

My husband has been a stay at home dad for about 3 months now. He is on a vacation, however, he still needs to go back abroad to finish his contract as a Computer Technician in Enjaz Tech Jeddah KSA.

 What does HOUSE HUSBAND or STAY-at-HOME DAD means?

Does our country already practicing this reverse of roles? Do women easily get a job than men nowadays or just being practical?

 HOUSE HUSBAND is a father who is the main caregiver of the children and is the homemaker of the household. As families have evolved, the practice of being a stay-at-home dad has become more common. The number of stay-at-home dads began gradually increasing in the late 20th century, especially in developed Western nations. Though the role is subject to many stereotypes, and men may have difficulties accessing parenting benefits, communities, and services targeted at mothers, it became more socially acceptable by the 2000s.[4] The stay-at-home dad was more regularly portrayed in the media by the 2000s, especially in the United States. However, in some regions of the world the stay-at-home dad remains culturally unacceptable.

I have read a poll asking which is more acceptable, house wife or house husband. People have different point of views. Some says is not acceptable because it is in our tradition that the man is the provider and woman is the nurturer. Men should be a real man by giving his family a stable life by working to earn money while the wife takes care of the household chores and caring for the husband and their kids.
I grew up in a family that my mom is also working. She works as an entertainer/singer in Japan where she met my dad. She chose to work though I already came in to their lives. I am used to the life that both parents are working. But she decided to quit her job when I am ready for school. Typical and tradition life in where the woman stays at home to take care of her child. In this way, as a child, I felt more secure when my mom stays at home taking care of me while my daddy is just a phone call away as he works in Japan and send us money. Life is so easy.
But reversing of role nowadays is inevitable. Base on statistic, there are more and more men who are unemployed while women gets the better job. Being a house husband is not just a choice; we must consider some grounds on how and why they become a stay at home husband.
Going back to the poll question, there are some people accepts the concept of stay at home husband. Women to love it when the man is one the who takes care of them, cooks, do the house chores, taking care of the kids, and do errands. It makes them more special as it we are treated like royalty. But, it is a case to case basis. But not all the time men are used to this turn around.
Like in my case, my husband is the house husband for the mean time. But before we get to this point, we have a lot of talks regarding the advantage and disadvantage of it. We will be financially tight and do some cost cutting on our expenses. I do have a nice earning at a call center but it’s not enough to sustain our lifestyle that we used to before he came back here in the Philippines.
I’d say we don’t have a choice as to why I let him be the house husband. I just keep it private. I think it is also a good decision to let him take over my position in the house so he will have a way to cope up those days and nights without him at our baby girl’s side.
For me, it is acceptable to have a house husband. Maybe I am just lucky that he accepts the responsibility with all his heart. He didn’t feel inferior or useless while I, his wife, work for them.
I’d say… RESPECT! That is the most important thing to give. Although, HE stays at home it doesn’t mean he is incapable of getting a good job or this man is a bum. Sometimes it is just being practical. Instead of keeping our yaya my husband chooses to be at home and save the money. 2 months from now, he is going back to KSA to finish his contract. Day by day, we savor the moment with him at home because in a few months he will be away from us again.
The concept of house husband is not a bad thing. Think of it that God really made us equal and man and woman are flexible. We can reverse role and can cope up really well.
I just can’t wait to go home to see my kids with their daddy already prepared a nice food for our lunch. I love to hear story about the milestones of our toddler that he seen on this day. Although in reality I have missed it, but he is there, and he is excited to talk about it, and it makes me feel I’m just beside them on that very moment.  

Everything happens for a reason.

IMG_2045

IMG_0345IMG_1895

#iloveyoumyhusbandthankyouforbeingagoodfather

Leave a Reply

