“I am thinking of having a Garage Sale: Yes I did!”

It seems that our house looks crowded eventhough we are just 4 in the family. It’s not the size of our house, but its the stuffs that not much of use anymore.
I am definitely having a garage sale this weekend! I am so excited with the thinking of making a good bargain and money of out the stuffs we do not use and need anymore. But how am I going to do that?

I am at the office at this wee hours and not that much of work to do so I did a research over the internet for tips and tricks on how to hold a garage sale.
So here are some of the steps that I must consider before rushing to make a sale.

1. Gather items for sale.
I have alot of baby stuff that were not in use anymore. Old clothes, towels, toys, freebies (from the events we have attended). If you are unsure with what you are going to sell ask yourself. “How long I am not using this stuff?” “Am I still going to use it?” For me, if its been a year that I am not using it I think it would be better to… make money out of it. 🙂

2. Inventory each item on a sheet of paper as you identify it for sale.
3. Review your completed inventory sheet and assign a reasonable price to each item.
4. Set a date and place for your sale and Make signs a few days before the sale to Advertise it.
5. Keep your display visually attractive and Secure the area *Keep an eye on your customers.
6. Be an active seller.
7. Offer last-minute deals.

If you really just want to get rid of an old knick-knack, price it accordingly. For items that are more valuable, a general rule is to price at 1/4 of what you paid or less. Obviously, you may want to make exceptions for some things, such as those that are nearly new or valuable antiques. Remember, though, garage sale shoppers are looking for bargains, and if you don’t want to have to pack everything back in your house at the end of the day, you’ve got to give people the low prices they’re looking for. Some people won’t pay over 10% of the retail price when they go shopping.

On Sunday, February 17, 2013
at 8:00 AM we held a Garage Sale. But there are already buyers who were knocking at our door 30 minutes before the call time just to be the first to buy the good stuffs. She told me that she will be off to work and arrive home late at night.
Well, we expect those early birds. That is why we woke up very early to get ready for the sale of the day!
Image

It was a successful garage sale. Though, not all items has been bought but we did a good sale. We sold almost 2000php for the preloved items.

Image

What was left after an hour.

Image

My husband and Little Princess

Leave a Reply

